CD BAM 2035

         soloist |
notes |  mp3 sample

Schubert's Dances Volume I & II
Over 6 hours of music on one DVD Audio disc.

the belair collection

Many composers of the Classical and Romantic eras wrote intensely personal music, but few wrote music so endearingly human as Franz Schubert. With Schubert it is as if we were standing at his shoulder, watching him at work and sharing his innermost thoughts as a composer.  Short, chubby and bespectacled, Schubert may have lacked glamour, but his musical talents were much respected and his warm friendly nature made him loved by all who knew him. The playwright Eduard von Bauernfeld, a close friend, remembered him as “the most honest soul and the most faithful friend”. In his short lifetime Schubert produced masterworks in many genres and established himself as one of the greatest song writers in musical history.

Schubert’s Dances for piano solo derive historically from a tradition which had its origin in the Viennese classicists.  Both Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven in addition to lesser known composers such as Kozeluch, Hummel and others had provided dances for court balls as well as for those balls that the court opened to “the people” in official halls during Carnivals and, later, for balls held by impresarios in halls to which admission had to be paid for.

These dances were played by small orchestras, but were in general published in a version for piano solo that later got rearranged by the individual groups performing in the dance halls, just as nowadays the songs are published in a summarized version. If this is the historical origin of Schubert’s dances, although he, however, did not write for public dance halls but almost exclusively for parties of friends or on commission by publishers, Schubert’s collections represent an important moment of transition from the classic to the romantic forms, from the monolithic block of the sonata to the polyphony of Schumann.

Schubert tends to have organized his collection in cycles. We can therefore distinguish three different periods in Schubert’s activity.
1812 –1815: first collections, particularly minuets, still traditional in approach.

1816-1823: progressive experiments in formal organization reaching their peaks in opuses 33, 50 and 171. With opus 171 a new phase seems to be opening which, however, was not continued.

1824-1828: some single dances and few cycles, perfectly organized but in a way which is less novel and less rich in future development than was the case for the cycles of 1823. 
Piero Rattalino.


 Franz Peter Schubert (1797-1828)

    Schubert’s Dances Volume I
1.  “Erste Walzer” D.365 - Op. 9 (24:25)
2.  “Walzer, Ländler & 3 Ecossaisen” D.145 - Op.18 (22:32)
3.  “Deutsche Tanze & 2 Ecossaisen” D.783 - Op.33 (13:05)
4.  “Grätzer Walzer” D.924 - Op.91 (10:23)
5.  “Grätzer Galopp” D.925 - Op.91 (01:54)
6.  “Wiener Damen-Ländler & 2 Ecossaisen” D734 - Op.67. (12:50)
7.  “Variazioni in sol min.sopra un Valzer di Diabelli” D.718. (02:10)
8.  “Menuet” D.336 (02:15)
9.  “Walzer Sentimentales” No.1-26, D.779 - Op.50 (25:44)
10. “Walzer Nobles” D.969 - Op.77 (11:01)
11. “Galopp und 8 Ecossaisen” D.735 - Op.49 (04:17)
12. “Letzte Walzer” No.1-10, D.146 - Op.127 (33:05)
13. “Dodizi Ländler” D.790 - Op.171 (12:01)

     Schubert’s Dances Volume II
14. “Trenta (venti) minuetti con trio (10 perduti)” D.41 (53:50)
15.Due minuetti e quattro trii” No. 1 - D.91 (08:37)
16. “Valzer in do diesis magg. con trio in la magg.” D.139 (02:47)
17. “Minuetto in mi magg. con due trii.”  D.335 (05:18)
18. “Minuetto in la magg. con trio.” D.334 (03:09)
19. “Tre minuetti con trii” D.380  (10:31)
20. “Scozzese in fa magg” D.158  (00:22)
21. “Dodici scozzesi” D.229 (05:53)
22.” Quattro “Ländler comici” in D magg.” D.354 (02:54)
23. “Dodici Wiener Deutsche” D.128 (11:27)
24. “Diciassette Deutsche dette Ländler” D.366 (12:40)
25. “Sei scozzesi” D.421 (02:15) 
26. “Otto Ländler in si bem. magg.” D.378 (04:44)
27. “Dodici danze tedesche” D.420 (09:28)
28. “Scozzese in mi bem. magg.” D.511 (00:24)
29. “Otto scozzesi” D.529 (02:57)

30. “Minuetto” D.600 (01:37)
31. “Trio (per un minuetto perduto) in mi magg.” D.610  (01:17)
32. “Scozzesi” D.618b (00:48)
33. “Due Ecossaisen  ” D.618c (00:46)
34. “Due Ländler” D.679 (01:15)
35. “Due Ländler” D.680 (01:20)
36. “Otto Ländler” D.681 (05:01)
37. “Danza tedesca e scozzese” D.643 (01:16)
38. “Sei scozzesi” D.697-145 (02:30)
39. “Quattro Ländler (piano a due mani)” D.814 (03:04)
40. “Danza tedesca” D.722 (00:50)
41. “Undici scozzesi” D.781(04:35)
42. “Due danze tedesche” D.769 (01:29)
43. “Scozzese” D.782 (00:26)
44. “Tre danze tedesche” D.971 (02:11)
45. “Sei danze tedesche” D.820 (07:08)
46. ”Due danze tedesche” D.841 (01:39)
47. “Valzer” (Albumblatt)” D.844 (00:53)
48. “Tre scozzesi” D.816 (01:13)
49. ”Sei danze tedesche” D.970 (03:53)
50. “Cotillon” D.976 (00:44)
51. “Tre danze tedesche” D.972b (01:52)
52. “Tre danze tedesche” D.973 (02:35)
53. “Due danze tedesche” D.974 (01:22)
54. “Tre danze tedesche (a quattro mani)” D.618 (06:32)
55. “Dieci scozzesi” D.977-145 (03:58)
56. “Danza tedesca” D.975 (00:45)
57. “Valzer” D.978 (01:01)
58. “Valzer” D.979 (00:58)
59. “Due valzer” D.980 (01:39)
60. “Danza tedesca” (00:41)
61. “Due minuetti” D. 995 (06:41)

Total playing time: 6 hours 24 minutes and 10 seconds

MPEG3 sound sample
Free MP3 sample from track no. 4 Grätzer Walzer  
download digital quality    
      Free MP3 sample from track no. 37 Danza tedesca e scozzese download digital quality  

Raimondo Campisi, Pianoforte

 Original Stereo Recording, Studio 7, Milan. 1978.
Re-mastered on DVD Dolby Digital Stereo 2.0. Milan 1/2005.

® &  © 2006 Bel Air Music®. Made in EC.  All rights reserved.

  top of page home